HOW MUCH ‘MORE AGGRESSIVE’ CAN THEY BE?…. Disgraced former House Majority Leader Tom DeLay (R-Texas) chatted with ABC’s Brian Ross this week, and the ethically-challenged exterminator turned politician turned reality-show star offered some advice to his party.

Despite the corruption and lobbying scandals that ensnared Republicans in Congress and triggered a Democratic resurgence over the past decade, Tom DeLay has only one piece of advice for GOP leaders as they attempt to retake the House in the upcoming midterm elections: Be more aggressive.

“The biggest change that I think they need [is] to be more aggressive at turning back the Obama agenda,” the former House majority leader told ABC News Chief Investigative Correspondent Brian Ross….

Now, I’d really like to hear about how this is possible. At this point, congressional Republicans oppose everything President Obama suggests, even when the president agrees with the GOP. DeLay’s former colleagues have accused the president of being like Hitler, equated inconsequential flare ups with Watergate, questioned his citizenship status, heckled him during an address to a joint session, and have raised the specter of impeachment for no apparent reason.

If congressional Republicans were to be “more aggressive,” I’m fairly certain the Secret Service would have to get involved.

DeLay added that he remains close friends with disgraced former Republican lobbyist Jack Abramoff.

Perhaps the most striking moment of the 20-minute interview came when Ross asked DeLay if he felt there were any lessons to take from the Abramoff scandal and an era in which free-spending lobbyists lavished members of congress with meals, trips, and campaign donations.

“None at all,” DeLay said, staring blankly.

He’s quite a piece of work.

Our ideas can save democracy... But we need your help! Donate Now!

Follow Steve on Twitter @stevebenen. Steve Benen is a producer at MSNBC's The Rachel Maddow Show. He was the principal contributor to the Washington Monthly's Political Animal blog from August 2008 until January 2012.