With Kay Hagan having joined Mark Warner and Mark Begich during the last few days as a convert to marriage equality, the idea that vulnerable red-state Dems facing re-election in 2014 would hold onto opposition to same-sex marriage isn’t looking too robust.

According to Zack Ford’s count at ThinkProgress, the Democratic senators who have not announced support for marriage equality are Carper, Casey, Donnelly, Heitkamp, Johnson, Landrieu, Manchin, Nelson and Pryor. Johnson announced yesterday he is retiring. So the only Dem senators up in 2014 who are holdouts are Landrieu and Pryor. The rest of the nine are up in 2016 or 2018, when if current trends continue, support for marriage equality could be as noncontroversial nationally as any other issue where Republicans are stuck on the wrong side of history.

That would have been pretty amazing not that very long ago.

Ed Kilgore

Ed Kilgore is a political columnist for New York and managing editor at the Democratic Strategist website. He was a contributing writer at the Washington Monthly from January 2012 until November 2015, and was the principal contributor to the Political Animal blog.