Since I posted yesterday about the Student Senate at Texas A&M University passing a “religious liberty” measure aimed at letting students “opt out” of helping fund a GLBT Resource Center on campus, I wanted to make sure to note this update from Allen Reed of the Bryan-College Station Eagle:

Texas A&M student body president John Claybrook has vetoed legislation from the student senate aimed at letting students opt out of funding the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered Resource Center, or other university services, based on religious grounds.

News this week that some student senators had targeted the center thrust the traditionally conservative university into the national spotlight, and Claybrook said it was time to “stop the bleeding.”

“The damage must stop today,” Claybrook wrote in a letter announcing the veto. “Texas A&M students represent our core value of respect exceptionally and I’m very proud of the family at this university. Now, more than ever, is the time to show great resolve and come together, treating each other like the family that we are.”

Good for him. And it will probably end the matter:

It is unclear if the senate will attempt to override the veto when it reconvenes on April 17. Senators, before the veto announcement, were noncommittal on whether they would attempt an override. If the division in the senate carried over to an override attempt, proponents of the bill would not have the two-thirds majority needed to overturn Claybrook’s decision.

Bill co-author Chris Woolsey said he was not aware of any discussions about a veto override.

“That’s just how the process works,” Woolsey said of the veto announcement. “… It’s just how the democratic process works. That’s his check on us.”

‘Tis indeed.

Our ideas can save democracy... But we need your help! Donate Now!

Ed Kilgore is a political columnist for New York and managing editor at the Democratic Strategist website. He was a contributing writer at the Washington Monthly from January 2012 until November 2015, and was the principal contributor to the Political Animal blog.