The Washington Monthly was founded in 1969 on the notion that a handful of plucky young writers and editors, armed with an honest desire to make government work and a willingness to ask uncomfortable questions, could tell the story of what really matters in Washington better than a roomful of Beltway insiders at a Georgetown dinner party. In our cluttered little downtown DC office, we’re still doing what we have done for more than 45 years, and what fewer and fewer publications do today: telling fascinating, deeply reported stories about the ideas and characters that animate America’s government.

We don’t chase news cycles, or obsess over the endless political horse race. We care about how the government can be improved, and why it hasn’t; who’s a fraud and who isn’t; which ideas ought to be banished from the nation’s capital and which ones deserve to be championed.

We’re not a subsidiary of some giant media company or a mouthpiece for ideologues. We’re an independent voice, listened to by insiders and willing to take on sacred cows—liberal and conservative.

Instead of cynically tearing down institutions and programs, we offer innovative solutions: how to get the best people to work for the government and how to get the best government for the people; how to get teachers who can teach and social workers who can make welfare reform work. We believe in the great American traditions of civic responsibility, caring for the down and out, and giving the average person a break.


Editor in Chief: Paul Glastris
Founding Editor: Charles Peters
President and Publisher Emeritus: Markos Kounalakis
Deputy Director: Alice J. Gallin-Dwyer
Senior Editor: Phillip Longman                                                                                                                                                           
Executive Editor Digital: Matthew Cooper                                                                                                                                 Managing Editor: Amy M. Stackhouse
Executive Editor: Daniel Block
Investigative Editor: Eric Cortellessa
Editor: Grace Gedye                                                                                                                                                                              Legal Affairs Editor: Garrett Epps
Art Director: Amy Swan                                                                                                                                                                        Director of Digital Strategy and Outreach: Julie Rodin Zebrak                                                                                            Business Operations Manager: Andronica Alston                                                                                                                      
Advertising Sales Manager: David Greene                                                                                                               Consultant: Carl Iseli
Consultant: Claire Iseli.   

Consultant: Sarah P. Weeldreyer
                                                                                                                                                    Consultant, Editorial Projects: Dorian Friedman                                                                                                                         Interns: Anna Brugmann, Luke Goldstein 

Contributing Editors: Jonathan Alter, Steve Benen, James Bennet, Thomas N. Bethell, Katherine Boo, Taylor Branch, Nick Confessore, Matt Connolly, Matthew Cooper, Michelle Cottle, Kevin Drum, Gregg Easterbrook, Gilad Edelman, Haley Sweetland Edwards, John Eisendrath, James Fallows, T.A. Frank, Daniel Franklin, Kukula Kapoor Glastris (1958-2017), John Gravois, Joshua Green, Charles Homans, David Ignatius, Mickey Kaus, Phil Keisling, Anne Kim, Ed KilgoreMichael Kinsley, Christina Larson, Nicholas Lemann, Suzannah Lessard, Nancy LeTourneau, Arthur LevineMartin Longman, Joshua Micah Marshall, Jon Meacham, Stephanie Mencimer, Matthew Miller, Rachel Morris, Timothy Noah, Joseph Nocera, John Rothchild, David Segal, Walter Shapiro, Joshua Wolf Shenk, Amy Sullivan, Nicholas Thompson, Steven Waldman, Benjamin Wallace-Wells, Robert Worth

Editorial Advisory Board: Nicholas Lemann, Chair; Clara Bingham, Debra Dickerson, James Fallows, J.J. Gould, Steven Teles.

Strategic Advisory Board: Emanuel L. Rouvelas, Chair; Clara Bingham, Robert L. DeFer, William V. Glastris, Hubin Jiang, Markos Kounalakis, Kathleen Kennedy Townsend.

Board of Directors: Paul Glastris, Michelle Cottle, Nicholas Lemann, Michael Sorrell, and Steven Waldman.


The nonprofit Washington Monthly is grateful to the following foundations
and donors for their generous recent support:

Our latest 990 forms can be viewed here.

Please contact David Greene at 202-413-4736 or D.greene1@comcast.net to inquire about advertising and marketing with the Monthly‘s College Guide and Rankings, including print/online combos and other opportunities.